Livetweeting The Republican Debate

So our assignment in-class last week was to live tweet the Republican candidate debate within 45 minutes. It was actually a bit more difficult than I anticipated, given that I had to quickly synthesize whatever a candidate said and then make a 140-character tweet about it.

This is how I started:

I quickly realized that I wouldn’t be able to be as “fact-checky” as I would like to be, so I switched to using humor and one-liners to get my point across. The point being, of course, that the Republican candidates are all full of shit.

I’m particularly proud of this tweet. It seemed so fitting for Carly Fiorina’s character, along with being a zinger about her appearance. It’s a good thing I don’t have any feminazi followers though, or else they might cry “SEXISM!!” on me:

A recurring problem I’ve noticed with Trump’s platform is its sheer ambiguity. He honestly expects us to just elect him and trust him to know what he’s doing beforehand. Definitely a big “WTF?”

I wasn’t really impressed by Carson’s performance in this debate. In fact, Carson doesn’t impress me at all. He acquitted himself well in the first debate, but from my perspective, he’s slowly gotten crazier and crazier.

I think at this point in the debate, all the candidates were talking over each other and the moderators had no idea what the hell was going on. They just let them talk. I hated that. The moderators of a debate shouldn’t allow themselves to end up in situations like this where they have no control over what’s going on. It just makes them look weak and allows the candidates to dictate the terms of the debate.

Trump probably said something ridiculous or offensive.

This is me trying to be a fact checker.

This is me acting surprised when Carly Fiorina said she wanted to condense the tax code into a three page paper. My dad’s an accountant. I wonder what he would have to say about that?

I honestly hate it when people blame the “liberal media” for bias. I can see where they’re coming from, of course, but most of the time they’re just mad that they can’t get away with saying whatever the hell they want and not get called out for it. They’re too used to their echo chambers.

Me trying to be funny. There wasn’t actually any gum under my desk, but I feel like it made a good point. I’m sure as hell not voting for Clinton, but I’m not voting for Marco Rubio either.

This one was pretty funny, because the media called out Fiorina for being crazy by association.

I remember this one. Marco Rubio got asked a question, went off on a tangent, ran out of time, and the moderators wouldn’t let him answer the question in the end. Dumbass.

Then he got all butthurt about it. I love Republican debates. It’s like watching an episode of “The Real Housewives of Capitol Hill.”

I try to give respect where respect is due. That way I’m not completely biased against the Republicans.

And this is where I ended my livestream. Once I got into the groove of things, I actually enjoyed it! I’m looking forward to the next debate so I can livetweet about that too.

Leave a Reply

