Data Journalism Exercise: Making an Infographic

If I never have to make another infographic in my lifetime, it will be too soon. I will freely admit that data journalism is something I could never do. I don’t have the patience for it at all. I like writing my stories out. I enjoy looking at infographics. I appreciate the hard work that goes into making them. But it’s tedious and I hate making them myself. Go ahead, call me lazy. I don’t care.

That’s not to say I didn’t like the assignment itself. If anything, I appreciate the fact that I had to do this in the first place, if only to understand how infographics are made and what kind of story is told through them. But after completing the assignment, all I can say is thank God I’ll never have to make an infographic again in my life.

That being said, I think I did a fairly decent job at the graphic design elements. Easel.ly is an interesting program to use, even if the “Free” portions are severely lacking compared to the options offered by the “Premium” subscription. But whatever, I gave it a shot. It may not be the best infographic in the world, but it is what it is. It was also really hard to find the data that I wanted to use, especially since most of it was written out as part of the source articles. So yeah, there’s gonna be information that I missed, but I feel like I touched on the relevant parts.

Also, for some reason, whenever I save the infographic to my desktop, the pie chart that I made gets all fucked up. It’s really annoying. It looks just fine on the site, but downloading it derps the hell out of the image for some reason. Easel.ly sucks.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 1.00.41 PM

EconomicStateofJournalism

Leave a Reply

